Tuesday, September 23, 2008

Delaware River Basin Commission

While the focus has been on the Susquehanna River Basin Commission (which regulates much of the area where natural gas drilling is likely to occur), the Delaware River Basin Commission has also been dealing with natural gas exploration.

The group regulates a small portion of Lackawanna and Luzerne counties, as well as most of Pike County. Monroe and Carbon counties also fall under the commission's jurisdiction. So does a part of Schuylkill County. Parts of New York State also fall under the commission's jurisdiction, including Broome County.

The Marcellus Shale runs beneath the above stated counties.

Over the summer, the DRBC told Stone Energy Corporation to halt operation in Wayne County because it had not received the commission's approval.

Here's a link to the commission's page: http://www.state.nj.us/drbc/

No comments: